Welcome to the Yoga Room!

Iyengar Level 1/2


This class is taught by:

Deborah Lapkin

All paths lead to yoga. My yoga practice began in 1998 while recovering from a skiing injury. I started taking Yoga classes to help strengthen my knee and in the process found that Yoga offered many other benefits.
I became very interested in learning more about Yoga and how it can positively affect the body and the mind. I wanted to learn more about Iyengar Yoga and completed my course work at the San Francisco Iyengar Institute. I’ve been teaching Iyengar Yoga since 2004. I am a certified Iyengar teacher. I teach Iyengar Yoga because it focuses on the precise alignment of the body. Iyengar yoga helps anyone to gain good health, mental peace, emotional equanimity and intellectual clarity. I have studied and trained with the masters BKS Iyengar and Gita Iyengar, Patricia Walden, Joan White, Manuso Manos, and Janet Macleod.
This class is for beginning and intermediate students who want to start a yoga practice. We will focus on the fundamentals of yoga asana in alignment with the use of props developed by BKS Iyengar. You will learn how to move the body in asana (postures) with connection of body ,mind and breath awareness to take your practice of yoga with mindful respect for the signals and messages your body is sending you..

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue May 23 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon May 29 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue May 30 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jun 05 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jun 06 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jun 12 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jun 13 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jun 19 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jun 20 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jun 26 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jun 27 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jul 03 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jul 04 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jul 10 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jul 11 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jul 17 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jul 18 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jul 24 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Tue Jul 25 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin
  • Mon Jul 31 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Deborah Lapkin